FSNE Board of Directors

Frank Denton, president
Editor, Florida Times-Union
Vice President for News, Morris Communications
1 Riverside Ave.
Jacksonville, FL 32202
Phone: (904) 359-4197
frank.denton@jacksonville.com
Joined board: March 2011

Doug Ray, vice-president
Executive Editor, The Gainesville Sun & gainesville.com
Executive Editor, The Ocala Star-Banner  & ocala.com
2700 SW 13th St.
Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone: (352) 374-5035
Doug.ray@gainesville.com
Joined board: January 2013

Aminda “Mindy” Marques, secretary-treasurer
Executive Editor, The Miami Herald
One Herald Plaza
Miami, FL 33132
Phone: (305) 376-3504
Fax: (305) 376-8976
AMarques@MiamiHerald.com

Bob Gabordi, past president 
Executive Editor, Tallahassee Democrat
Tallahassee, Florida
Phone: (850) 599-2177
Fax: (850) 656-5727
bgabordi@tallahassee.com
Joined board: August 2008

Gil Thelen
Exofficio
Executive Director,  Florida Society of News Editors
Phone: (813) 787-3886
gthelen1@icloud.com
16340 Heathrow Dr.
Tampa, FL 33647

Barbara Petersen
Exofficio
President, First Amendment Foundation
336 E. College Ave., Suite 300
Tallahassee, FL 32301
Phone: (850) 224-4555
Fax: (850) 224-0435
Summer phone: (505) 689-1084
E-mail: sunshine@floridafaf.org
Second E-mail: foi@earthlink.net

Dean Ridings
Exofficio
President and CEO, Florida Press Association
610 Crescent Executive Court, Suite 112
Lake Mary, FL 32746-2111
Phone: (321) 283-5277
Fax: (850) 577-3600
deanr@flpress.com

Terry Spencer
Florida News Editor, The Associated Press
9100 NW 36th St., Suite 104
Miami, FL 33178
Phone: (305) 594-5825
Fax: (305) 594-9265
Cell: (305) 815-0102
tspencer@ap.org
Joined board: July 2013

David Carlson, academic representative
Executive Director, Center for Media Innovation + Research
University of Florida
P.O. Box 118400
Gainesville, FL 32611
Phone: (352) 846-0171
Fax: (352) 846-2673
dcarlson@jou.ufl.edu
Joined board: January 2010

Manny Garcia
Editor, Naples Daily News
1100 Immokalee
Naples, FL 34110
Phone: (239) 263-4863
manny.garcia@naplesnews.com 
Joined board: January 2010

Kenneth F. Irby
Joined board: June 2007
Senior Faculty & Director of Community Relations & Diversity Programs, The Poynter Institute
801 Third St. South
St. Petersburg, Florida 33701
Irbyman@poynter.org
Cell: 727.244.1302
Joined board: February 2012

Chris Porter
Editor, Charlotte Sun
23710 Harborview Road
Phone: (941) 206-1000
porter@sun-herald.com
Joined board: July 2011

Bill Church
Executive Editor, Sarasota Herald-Tribune & heraldtribune.com
APME national board member
1741 Main St.
Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone: (941) 361-4991
bill.church@heraldtribune.com
Joined board: January 2014

David Plazas
Digital Engagement Editor, News Press
dplazas@news-press.com
(239) 335-0224 (desk)
(239) 823-1153 (cell)
Twitter: @davidplazas
LinkedIn: linkedin.com/in/davidplazas
Joined Board: May 2014

Rosemary Goudreau
Editorial Page Editor, Sun-Sentinel
rgoudreau.tampa@gmail.com
rgoudreau@sun-sentinel.com
Phone: (954) 356-4669
Joined Board: August 2014

Tristram Korten
Editor, Florida Center for Investigative Reporting
korten@fcir.org
Joined Board: August 2014

Jennifer Orsi
Managing editor, Tampa Bay Times
490 First Avenue S.
St. Petersburg, FL 33731
Ph: (727) 893-8245
Jorsi@tampabay.com
Joined Board: August 2014

Contact us by email

Last updated August 2014