FSNE Board of Directors

Bob Gabordi, president 
Executive Editor
Tallahassee Democrat
Tallahassee, Florida
Phone: (850) 599-2177
Fax: (850) 656-5727
bgabordi@tallahassee.com
Joined board: August 2008

Frank Denton, vice-president
Editor, Florida Times-Union & jacksonville.com
Vice President for News, Morris Communications
1 Riverside Ave.
Jacksonville, FL 32202
Phone: (904) 359-4197
frankdenton@comcast.net
Joined board: March 2011

Doug Ray, secretary-tresurer
Executive Editor, The Gainesville Sun & gainesville.com
Executive Editor, The Ocala Star-Banner  & ocala.com
2700 SW 13th St.
Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone: (352) 374-5035
Doug.ray@gainesville.com
Joined board: January 2013

Gil Thelen
Exofficio
Executive Director,  Florida Society of News Editors
Clendinen Professor, USF School of Mass Communications
Phone: (813) 787-3886
16340 Heathrow Dr.
Tampa, FL 33647

Cory Lancaster, veteran member
Managing Editor
The News-Journal
901 Sixth Street
Daytona Beach, FL 32117
Phone: (386) 681-2440
Fax: (386) 258-8465
cory.lancaster@aol.com
Joined board: March 2008

Terry Spencer
Florida News Editor
The Associated Press
9100 NW 36th St., Suite 104
Miami, FL 33178
Phone: (305) 594-5825
Fax: (305) 594-9265
Cell: (305) 815-0102
tspencer@ap.org
Joined board: July 2013

David Carlson, academic representative
Executive Director
Center for Media Innovation + Research
University of Florida
P.O. Box 118400
Gainesville, FL 32611
Phone: (352) 846-0171
Fax: (352) 846-2673
dcarlson@jou.ufl.edu
Joined board: January 2010

Manny Garcia
Editor
Naples Daily News
1100 Immokalee
Naples, FL 34110
Phone: (239) 263-4863
manny.garcia@naplesnews.com 
Joined board: January 2010

Aminda “Mindy” Marques
Executive Editor
The Miami Herald
One Herald Plaza
Miami, FL 33132
Phone: (305) 376-3504
Fax: (305) 376-8976
AMarques@MiamiHerald.com

Kenneth F. Irby
Joined board: June 2007
Senior Faculty,
Director of Community Relations & Diversity Programs
The Poynter Institute
801 Third St. South
St. Petersburg, Florida 33701
Irbyman@poynter.org
Cell: 727.244.1302
Joined board: February 2012

Barbara Petersen
President
First Amendment Foundation
336 E. College Ave., Suite 300
Tallahassee, FL 32301
Phone: (850) 224-4555
Fax: (850) 224-0435
Summer phone: (505) 689-1084
E-mail: sunshine@floridafaf.org
Second E-mail: foi@earthlink.net

Chris Porter
Editor
Charlotte Sun
23710 Harborview Road
Phone: (941) 206-1000
porter@sun-herald.com
Joined board: July 2011

Dean Ridings
President and CEO
Florida Press Association Service
2636 Mitcham Drive
Tallahassee, FL 32308
Phone: (850) 521-1162
Fax: (850) 577-3600
deanr@flpress.com

Bill Church
Executive Editor
Sarasota Herald-Tribune & heraldtribune.com
APME national board member
1741 Main St.
Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone: (941) 361-4991
bill.church@heraldtribune.com
Joined board: January 2014

Contact us by email

Last updated March 2014