FSNE Board of Directors

Doug Ray, president
Executive Editor, The Gainesville Sun & gainesville.com
Executive Editor, The Ocala Star-Banner  & ocala.com
2700 SW 13th St.
Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone: (352) 374-5035
Doug.ray@gainesville.com
Joined board: January 2013

Aminda “Mindy” Marques, vice-president 
Executive Editor, The Miami Herald
One Herald Plaza
Miami, FL 33132
Phone: (305) 376-3504
Fax: (305) 376-8976
AMarques@MiamiHerald.com

Manny Garcia, secretary-treasurer 
Editor, Naples Daily News
1100 Immokalee
Naples, FL 34110
Phone: (239) 263-4863
manny.garcia@naplesnews.com 
Joined board: January 2010

Frank Denton, past president
Editor, Florida Times-Union
Vice President for News, Morris Communications
1 Riverside Ave.
Jacksonville, FL 32202
Phone: (904) 359-4197
frank.denton@jacksonville.com
Joined board: March 2011

Bob Gabordi, veteran member  
Executive Editor, Tallahassee Democrat
Tallahassee, Florida
Phone: (850) 599-2177
Fax: (850) 656-5727
bgabordi@tallahassee.com
Joined board: August 2008

Gil Thelen
Exofficio
Executive Director,  Florida Society of News Editors
Phone: (813) 787-3886
gthelen1@icloud.com
16340 Heathrow Dr.
Tampa, FL 33647

Barbara Petersen
Exofficio
President, First Amendment Foundation
336 E. College Ave., Suite 300
Tallahassee, FL 32301
Phone: (850) 224-4555
Fax: (850) 224-0435
Summer phone: (505) 689-1084
E-mail: sunshine@floridafaf.org
Second E-mail: foi@earthlink.net

Dean Ridings
Exofficio
President and CEO, Florida Press Association
610 Crescent Executive Court, Suite 112
Lake Mary, FL 32746-2111
Phone: (321) 283-5277
Fax: (850) 577-3600
deanr@flpress.com

Terry Spencer
Florida News Editor, The Associated Press
9100 NW 36th St., Suite 104
Miami, FL 33178
Phone: (305) 594-5825
Fax: (305) 594-9265
Cell: (305) 815-0102
tspencer@ap.org
Joined board: July 2013

David Carlson, academic representative
Executive Director, Center for Media Innovation + Research
University of Florida
P.O. Box 118400
Gainesville, FL 32611
Phone: (352) 846-0171
Fax: (352) 846-2673
dcarlson@jou.ufl.edu
Joined board: January 2010

Chris Porter
Editor, Charlotte Sun
23710 Harborview Road
Phone: (941) 206-1000
porter@sun-herald.com
Joined board: July 2011

Rosemary Goudreau
Editorial Page Editor, Sun-Sentinel
rgoudreau.tampa@gmail.com
rgoudreau@sun-sentinel.com
Phone: (954) 356-4669
Joined Board: August 2014

Tristram Korten
Editor, Florida Center for Investigative Reporting
korten@fcir.org
Joined Board: August 2014

Jennifer Orsi
Managing Editor, Tampa Bay Times
490 First Avenue S.
St. Petersburg, FL 33731
Ph: (727) 893-8245
Jorsi@tampabay.com
Joined Board: August 2014

Ken Koehn
Managing Editor, Tampa Tribune
202 South Parker Street
Tampa, FL 33606
Ph: (813) 259-7954
kkoehn@tampatrib.com
Joined Board: February 2015

Cindy McCurry Ross
Executive Editor, News-Press
2442 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd
Fort Myers, FL 33901
Ph: (239) 335-0280
cmcross@news-press.com
Joined Board: February 2015

Tim Franklin
President, The Poynter Institute
801 Third Street So.
St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone: (727) 553-4244
Fax: (727) 553-4683
tfranklin@poynter.org
Joined Board: August 2015

Nick Moschella
Managing Editor, The Palm Beach Post
2751 South Dixie Highway
West Palm Beach, Fl 33405
Ph: (561) 820-4441
nmoschella@pbpost.com
Joined Board: August 2015

Contact us by email

Last updated August 2015