FSNE Board of Directors

Aminda “Mindy” Marques, president 
Executive Editor, The Miami Herald
One Herald Plaza
Miami, FL 33132
Phone: (305) 376-3504
Fax: (305) 376-8976
AMarques@MiamiHerald.com

Manny Garcia, vice president
Editor, Naples Daily News
1100 Immokalee
Naples, FL 34110
Phone: (239) 263-4863
manny.garcia@naplesnews.com
Joined board: January 2010

Jennifer Orsi, secretary-treasurer
Managing Editor, Tampa Bay Times
490 First Avenue S.
St. Petersburg, FL 33731
Phone: (727) 893-8245
Jorsi@tampabay.com
Joined Board: August 2014

Doug Ray, past president
Executive Editor, The Gainesville Sun & gainesville.com
Executive Editor, The Ocala Star-Banner  & ocala.com
2700 SW 13th St.
Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone: (352) 374-5035
Doug.ray@gainesville.com
Joined board: January 2013

Frank Denton, veteran member
Editor, Florida Times-Union
Vice President for News, Morris Communications
1 Riverside Ave.
Jacksonville, FL 32202
Phone: (904) 359-4197
frank.denton@jacksonville.com
Joined board: March 2011

Gil Thelen
Exofficio
Executive Director,  Florida Society of News Editors
Phone: (813) 787-3886
gthelen1@icloud.com
16340 Heathrow Dr.
Tampa, FL 33647

Barbara Petersen
Exofficio
President, First Amendment Foundation
336 E. College Ave., Suite 300
Tallahassee, FL 32301
Phone: (850) 224-4555
Fax: (850) 224-0435
Summer phone: (505) 689-1084
E-mail: sunshine@floridafaf.org
Second E-mail: foi@earthlink.net

Dean Ridings
Exofficio
President and CEO, Florida Press Association
610 Crescent Executive Court, Suite 112
Lake Mary, FL 32746-2111
Phone: (321) 283-5277
Fax: (850) 577-3600
deanr@flpress.com

Ian Mader
Florida News Editor, The Associated Press
9100 NW 36th St., Suite 111
Miami, FL 33178
Phone: (305) 594-5825
Fax: (305) 594-9265
Cell: (305) 775-2539
imader@ap.org
Joined board: May 2016

David Carlson, academic representative
Executive Director, Center for Media Innovation + Research
University of Florida
P.O. Box 118400
Gainesville, FL 32611
Phone: (352) 846-0171
Fax: (352) 846-2673
dcarlson@jou.ufl.edu

John Cutter
Managing Editor, Orlando Sentinel
633 N. Orange Ave.
Orlando, FL 32801
Office: (407) 540-3593
Fax: (407) 420-5286
jcutter@orlandosentinel.com
Joined Board: August 2016

Teresa Elena Frontado
Digital Director, WLRN Public Media
172 NE 15th Street
Miami, FL 33132
Phone: (786) 368-5010
tfrontado@wlrnnews.org
Joined Board: August 2016

William Hatfield
Executive Editor, Tallahassee Democrat
277 N. Magnolia Drive
Tallahassee, FL 32301
Office: (850) 599-2177
Cell: (850) 228-6463
whatfield@tallahassee.com
Joined Board: August 2016

Lisa Nellessen-Lara
Executive Editor, Pensacola News Journal
2 N. Palafox Street
Pensacola, Fl 32502
Office: (850) 435-8514
Cell: (765) 716-5738
Lnelless@gannett.com
Joined Board: August 2016

Contact us by email

Last updated December 2016