Deadline Extended! 2018 FSNE Journalism Contest

The deadline has been extended to 3/20/18! Please note: This is a one-time and final extension. The deadline will not be extended past 3/20.

Laura Reiley wins Paul Hansell Award

The Florida Society of News Editors’ 2017 Paul Hansell Award goes to Tampa Bay Times food critic Laura Reiley for her ambitious “Farm to Fable” series exposing deceit in the food industry. The judges were impressed by the thoroughness of her investigation and what it revealed about false claims of locally sourced ingredients everywhere from…
Read more

2017 Paul Hansell Contest Deadline Extended To Sept. 25

Entries have opened for the Paul Hansell Award for Distinguished Achievement in Florida Journalism. The contest is open to all individuals who write for a Florida newspaper. The winner receives $1,000. The late Paul Hansell was a long-time Associated Press bureau chief in Florida and a former member of FSNE. Deadline for the contest has…
Read more

2017 FSNE Journalism Contest Results

Division A Newspapers with daily circulation of 125,000 or more Gold Medal Staff Miami Herald/El Nuevo Herald The Panama Papers: Florida Edition Breaking News Reporting Staff Orlando Sentinel Pulse Massacre Breaking-News Coverage Second Place Staff The Miami Herald Fidel Castro’s death Third Place Staff Miami Herald The Death of Jose Fernandez Features & Enterprise Writing…
Read more

Ken Doctor To Headline 2017 Florida Media Conference; Discounted Registration Ends June 1

Ken Doctor, news industry and consumer media analyst and author, will anchor both days of the Aug. 10-11 mega Florida Press Association, FSNE, Florida Magazine Association and Florida Newspaper Advertising and Marketing Executives annual conference in Naples. The theme of the 2017 conference is seizing opportunity in a turbulent time for information providers. Doctor has…
Read more

2016 FSNE Journalism Contest Results

Division A Newspapers with daily circulation of 125,000 or more Breaking News Reporting First Place Zachary T. Sampson, Curtis Krueger, Dan Sullivan, Josh Solomon Tampa Bay Times The Death of Phoebe Jonchuck Second Place Ben Montgomery, Zachary Sampson, Craig Pittman, Josh Solomon Tampa Bay Times Florida Mailman Lands Gyrocopter on U.S. Capitol Lawn Third Place…
Read more

FSNE Bylaws Amended

Dear FSNE colleague: Your board of directors has amended our bylaws to broaden our membership criteria to include news leaders in the electronic media, including TV. The changes allow membership for leaders of news sites that don’t use either the term editor or news director. We can also add academic and institutional leaders connected to…
Read more

Minutes of FSNE Board Meeting 7/23/2015

The meeting was called to order at 9:05 by Frank Denton. In attendance: Gil Thelen, Frank Denton, Doug Ray, Rosemary O’Hara, Barbara Petersen, Terry Spencer, Jennifer Orsi, Manny Garcia, Tristram Korten, David Carlson, Cindy McCurry-Ross, Ken Koehn, Mindy Marques, Bob Gabordi The minutes from the April meeting were approved. Financial Report and Membership: Thelen reported…
Read more

Minutes of Quarterly FSNE Board Meeting 4/15/15

The meeting was called to order at 2:10 p.m. by Frank Denton.   Those in attendance were Frank Denton, Bob Gabordi, Gil Thelen, Terry Spencer, David Carlson, Manny Garcia, Rosemary Goudreau, Tristram Korten, Ken Koehn, Cindy McCurry Ross.   The minutes from the January meeting were approved.   Contest update: An update of the contest…
Read more

Minutes of Fall 2014 Board Meeting

FSNE Fall Board Meeting   Poynter Institute, 801 Third St. South, St. Petersburg, FL October 25, 2014   In attendance: Carlson, Church, Denton, Goudreau, Irby, Korten, Orsi, Petersen, Porter, Ray, Spencer. By phone: Garcia Absent: Marques, Gabordi   1. Call to order: Denton 10:05a.m. 2. Approval of April Minutes: Ray http://fsne.flpress.com/2014/09/17/fsne-summer-board-meeting/ Orsi motion to approve. Carlson…
Read more